Home sweet home

Standard

After living abroad for six years, coming home is supposed to be hard. Leaving your life behind. Packing up years of adventures into a few boxes to be thrown to the whims of the postal service. Reverse culture shock. Seeing how much everything changed, and feeling resentful that it didn’t all stay still while you were gone.

Well, fuck that. I’m home and I couldn’t be happier.

There’s so many things I missed about Canada. Things you don’t appreciate until you’re living in a foreign country where you have the vocabulary of a four year old and are functionally illiterate. I missed friends and family. I missed having fireworks on New Year’s Eve. I missed falling asleep to the sound of a distant foghorn in the harbour. I missed being able to buy cheese that came in flavours other than “processed”. I missed being able to buy books in English at an actual book store rather than ordering import books online. Little things. Important things.

Not that being back home automatically makes things easy. But its a hell of a lot better than staying in a foreign country, doing a job that was making me miserable, and feeling like I was standing still.

Since I’m starting over in life, I may as well start over here too. If you followed me from one of my previous online lives, hello again. It’s been a while. I missed you! Let’s catch up on our mutual geekdom soon. If you’re new, hello to you too.

Leave a Reply

